❮   HOME

Advantage Testing LSAT Q&A

What does the LSAT consist of?

The LSAT is digital exam offered remotely and at Prometric test centers. It consists of four 35-minute multiple-choice sections:

The four sections of the LSAT occur in no particular order, and there is a break following the second section. The experimental section, which does not count toward your score, is included to assess questions that may be used on future versions of the exam. You will not know which section is experimental when taking the test, so you should treat each section as though it will count toward your score.

In addition to taking your LSAT, you must also complete the remotely proctored LSAT Writing, which asks you to produce a well-reasoned argument in response to a question. While your writing sample is not calculated into your LSAT score, it will be sent to every law school to which you apply. Faculty readers at some law schools take the writing sample seriously as evidence of your ability to write under time pressure, an important skill in law school. LSAC will not release your scores until you complete the LSAT Writing.

Get the latest Q&A's in your inbox

Awesome sauce!

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form :(